Day 1.

image

No gluten, no grains, no diary, no soy, no legumes, no sugar, no alcohol. 30 days. It’s called the Whole 30, and yes, that does say no alcohol. Deeeep breaths.
After a week’s worth of vacation indulgences (ok, the weeks pre-vacation too) my husband and I decided to do it. To reset, detox, all that jazz. To eat REAL food, all the time, no excuses.
So this was day 1. Since I’ve been gluten free for over a year, it wasn’t THAT difficult. But that’s just one day. I know the sugar crash is coming as my body detoxes from processed foods. The result will be worth it, undoubtedly. Here’s what I ate:

Coffee with unsweetened almond milk

Lunch: Eggs and bacon
Raw, unsalted cashews

Dinner: 10-minute chili (see the book It Starts With Food) with avocado over spinach. Basically ground beef with veggies and spices.
Handful unsweetened raw coconut flakes.

At the end of the day I’m feeling fine. Though I’d love some ice cream…

Leave a Reply

